Bazzana, MacGregor highlight Cape League awards


Both Travis Bazzana and Tyler MacGregor received Cape league honors prior to Saturday night’s opening round playoff game against Hyannis.

Bazzana, who also won the league’s batting title with an average of .375, captured Pat Sorenti MVP honors, while MacGregor — a local Northeastern standout — earned the John J. Claffey Outstanding New England Player of the Year Award.

Boasting team bests in hits (51), runs (33) and home runs (6) for Falmouth in 2023, Bazzana qualifies as the first Commodore to win the league’s most valuable player since Kevin Newman in 2014. MacGregor, meanwhile, brings his honor home to Manager Jeff Trundy’s team for the first time since Nate Koneski in 2011.

Falmouth has now produced six MVP’s and three New England Award winners. The former, which came into existence in 1964, features Darin Erstad, Daniel Carte, Conor Gillaspie, A.J. Pollock, Newman and Bazzana as Commodores honorees.

“I think it says a great deal about their makeup,” Trundy said of what the MVP award means prior to Bazzana’s honoring. “He has all the ingredients. I’m obviously biased, but certainly he’s an MVP in my eyes.”